Excerpt: Heartland

Morning

If I say too much you might decide that you like it here. You might even want to come up and visit. Maybe that would be OK, but I’m not so sure. It all depends upon your attitude. You’ll need an attitude check and some connections. It’s not for everybody.

Anyway, it’s not my job to make it easy on you. That’s up to you. I’ll just tell you what I know, what I see, and you can work out the rest of it.

Expect a few white lies, just to make sure you don’t come running up here without knowing what in the hell you’re doing. The lies won’t matter much, they won’t change anything. They’re like the old wooden fence posts down on the south pasture. They look good but don’t do much.

 

Have an opinion? Please share it!

