Dear Gregor, What is Great Poetry?

GregorAlexis, thanks for writing to my Head Wrap Advice Column!

I rarely stray into topics like this, so thanks for the opportunity. I’m certainly not a poet, as you probably know from my columns. However, I love poetry and have made it a passion in my life. Of course, I’ve read all the great ones.

Throughout all these years of study, I’ve discovered some fantastic poetry that has gone virtually unrecognized. Today, I will share a bit of this treasure with you. As you read these wonderful lines, take the time to sip upon the meaning of the words and phrases, the striking images that arise so naturally and easily. This is how I define great poetry. I’m sure you’ll agree.

This wholly undervalued masterpiece was created by Barry Mann and Gerry Coffin. It has a beautiful music line also, which has been omitted to keep this column tight and as interesting as always. Anyway, the key is in the words, the construction of soul-moving phrases, and the impact of a finale like none other.

Again, thanks for writing, Alexis. As always, I love to hear from my readers.

Gregor, the Head Wrap Advice Columnist

PS. Alexis, I’ve included a rare photograph of the poets for your collection. I know this will be meaningful for you. (Thanks to Artie Wayne On The Web for this fascinating piece of nostalgia.)

Don Kirshner, Barry Mann, Gerry Goffin, Al Nevins

I’d like to thank the guy who wrote the song

That made my baby fall in love with me

Who put the bomp
In the bomp bah bomp bah bomp
Who put the ram
In the rama lama ding dong

Who put the bop
In the bop shoo bop shoo bop
Who put the dip
In the dip da dip da dip

Who was that man, I’d like to shake his hand
He made my baby fall in love with me [Yeah]

When my baby heard
Bomp bah bah bomp
Bah bomp bah bomp bah
Every word went right into her heart

And when she heard them singin’
Rama lama lama lama
Lama ding dong
She said we’d never have to part

So who put the bomp
In the bomp bah bomp bah bomp
Who put the ram
In the rama lama ding dong

Who put the bop
In the bop shoo bop shoo bop
Who put the dip
In the dip da dip da dip

Who was that man, I’d like to shake his hand
He made my baby fall in love with me [Yeah]

Each time that we’re alone
Boogity boogity boogity
Boogity boogity boogity shoo
Sets my baby’s heart all aglow

And everytime we dance to
Dip da dip da dip
Dip da dip da dip
She always says she loves me so

So who put the bomp
In the bomp bah bomp bah bomp
Who put the ram
In the rama lama ding dong

Who put the bop
In the bop shoo bop shoo bop
Who put the dip
In the dip da dip da dip

Who was that man, I’d like to shake his hand
He made my baby fall in love with me [Yeah]

Darling, bomp bah bah bomp, bah bomp bah bomp bomp
And my honey, rama lama ding dong forever
And when I say, dip da dip da dip da dip
You know I mean it from the bottom of my boogity boogity boogity shoo

Ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh…
Ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh… ooh

Have an opinion? Please share it!

