Blog Comments and Knicker Hitching

AmarcordWhen it comes to blogging, I’m still trying to get my knickers hitched up properly. I’ve been at it for less than a year. Since I’m an old fogy, blogging came very late to my game. After 45+ years of writing, it was something new to try, a fresh way to exercise and exorcise my muse.

I’ve come to really enjoy the experience. Reading other blogs is fun and doesn’t take up much time. I’ve seen some great talent out there and, well, some lesser luminaries. My collection of “must read” blogs is tight but the quality is outstanding. When I don’t have the time to cruise through my blog list I feel as though the day has slipped away too quickly.

My favorite part of the blogging experience is reading the comments following my posts. I’m not much of a stats person. It’s not the kind of thing that yanks my tail much. The “likes” are fun because they give me a chance to check out a new blog. But it’s the comments that always make my day. They are pure prime rib for this carnivore.

AmarcordMy blog is meant for writers, mostly. I have a secondary character (Gregor) who makes social commentary and tries to deliver humor. But Gregor also talks to writers. So, most of my visitors seem to follow suit. They are typically writers, and some very good ones. When these readers are moved to leave a comment, I feel as though I’ve done a good job and that my fellow-writers have found some value in my words. It’s easy to push the “like” button but it takes a bit more effort to leave a comment. When a reader leaves me with a word or two, that’s a big payoff.

I’m also very impressed with the quality of comments. These are sharp folks, who can express themselves clearly and in a limited space. I like that. They often bring a big sense of humor along with them, especially when it’s a comment to one of Gregor’s blatherings. They banter and tweak, which makes my day. They thrive on fun and they’re not afraid to show it out loud. It’s a feel-good thing. I appreciate the smiles and chuckles.

Then there’s that geography thing.

Call me naive in the ways of blogging but I’m blown over by visits from across the world. OK, I’m severely provincial, so it’s a big deal in my quiet life. Better still, these folks can handle English with aplomb. Hell, I could never get past Pig Latin 101. The truth is that I’ve never been that good at my native language. I’m impressed that so many of these commentators are bi-lingual and so articulate. They remind me how small is my world, how absent my grasp of languages and other cultures. I admire these folks.

AmarcordMostly, these reader comments show me a strong sense of community, a gathering of people with similar interests from different places and perceptions. I like that. Since I live in a very rural area, these commentators open up my world in a big way. I suppose I could gain much by traveling more frequently, but I’m an old geezer and lazy by nature. Home is just fine. So, I travel through the world with the folks who take the time to comment on a post. They share their unique view of things, they give me a chuckle, they tell me about their world through their words. They are my teachers.

I thrive on these comments and appreciate them. The bottom line is that these short sentences are my reward for writing. They are gifts given freely and with a genuiness that is inescapable. There’s no better way to begin the day.

Thanks to all of you who have commented on my posts. You’ve made my blogging journey fun and endlessly interesting.

(Images from Fellini’s Amarcord. If you haven’t seen it, you have a real treat to come. It’s a writer’s movie, a lesson in real character development. It’s also very funny.)

12 thoughts on “Blog Comments and Knicker Hitching

  1. Well, Michael, you are such an inspiration to me that sharing comments and stories with you is the least I can do! Your insights, observations, and experiences are not only educational (and humorous!), they’re deeply felt and obviously come from a place inside of you that has been honed over many miles of life-road. I hope you never stop writing…. As they say here in Italy, “in bocca al lupo”, which means literally “in the mouth of the wolf.” (Long history on that one–someday I’ll write it up.) Figuratively it means “go with the spirit that moves you.”

  2. Telling people you love them is a sure-fire way to get good reviews! Seriously, though, I enjoy reading your posts at least as much as you enjoy the comments; I’m glad you went techno.

  3. Oh crumbs … now it looks as if I’m commenting just because you mentioned how much comments mean to you. *Ponders uncomfortably*

    I know just what you mean, Michael … it really makes my day when people leave a comment on one of my posts. I love it even more if it is funny … I’m into humour in a big way.

  4. You’ve managed to explain very well why it is worth blogging. I don’t feel like I’m very good at it, but I enjoy it, so I keep at it. The people you meet and insights gained from them make it well worth the journey. Well said, keep up the good work.

Have an opinion? Please share it!

