Writers Embrace Mayan Deadline

Yikes!I can’t remember who first introduced me to the concept that “there’s an answer to every problem.” Maybe it’s true, maybe not. For those of us who write, there are few good answers to a looming deadline. However, the Mayans may have finally provided the ultimate solution to this insidious problem.

According to the Mayans, the world is supposed to end in the year 2012. Are you buying that? When’s the last time you even ran into a Mayan? (Jay Leno, The Tonight Show, January 4, 2012)

It’s the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine.(REM, It’s the End of the World As We Know It)

When you expect the world to end at any moment, you know there is no need to hurry. You take your time, you do your work well. (Thomas Merton)

I can’t imagine Jon Cryer performing with the New York Philharmonic isn’t one of the signs of apocalypse. (Jon Cryer)

It isn’t necessary to imagine the world ending in fire or ice — there are two other possibilities: one is paperwork, and the other is nostalgia. (Frank Zappa)

Butthead talks to a scientist who has survived the apocalypse:
”I see your spacesuit, like, saved you from the apocalypse – so do you wanna, like, recopulate the earth?” (Beavis and Butthead, Episode 7)

If 2012 is the end of the world can I have a table for two at Ground Zero? (Stanley Victor Paskavich)

I’m willing to give it a try. Bite me. (Sharon Trembley)

Have you found a special way to deal with deadlines? The only thing that’s ever worked for me is to ignore them, followed by consequences, followed by regret. Then, repeat the cycle. However, I really like Sharon Trembley’s solution.

1 thought on “Writers Embrace Mayan Deadline

  1. Pingback: The End of The World | Jonathan Hilton

Have an opinion? Please share it!